All About Independent Publishing

Thursday, Jun 27, 2024
2:00 pm, ET
11:00 am, PT
Zoom

Thursday, June 27, 2024
11:00 am PDT / 12:00 pm MDT, CST / 1:00 pm CDT / 2:00 pm EDT / 3:00 pm ADT / 3:30 pm NDT
60 minutes
Live captions available
Registration: $20 / Free for TWUC members

Register now


What is independent publishing and is it the right path for you? Join Melissa Yi as she shares her journey to independent publishing, including the pros and cons, costs, challenges, and how she found success with it. Hosted by bestselling author Judy Penz Sheluk, this webinar runs approximately 60 minutes, including a Q&A period. TWUC members will have access to a recording of the webinar for a limited time. Non-members will only have access to the live event.

 

Photo of Melissa Yi

Melissa Yi will try most things once, whether it’s reducing a dislocated hip as an emergency room physician or pivoting to independent publishing so she can control her own intellectual property and creativity. Melissa is best known for her heroine, resident Dr. Hope Sze, who leaps from fixing ingrown toenails to solving full-blown murders and the seven deadly sins, including her latest release, Sugar and Vice. Melissa won the 2023 Derringer Award for the best short mystery in the English language and the Prix Aurora Award for the best speculative poem in Canada. She also writes non-fiction as Melissa Yuan-Innes. Melissa loves meeting people online linktr.ee/melissayi and offers free gifts to anyone who signs up for her newsletter (melissayuaninnes.com). Come on in, the water’s fine! 

 

Photo of Judy Penz Sheluk

A former journalist and magazine editor, Judy Penz Sheluk is the bestselling author of Finding Your Path to Publication and Self-publishing: The Ins & Outs of Going Indie, as well as two mystery series: the Glass Dolphin Mysteries and Marketville Mysteries, both of which have been published in multiple languages. Her short crime fiction appears in several collections, including the Superior Shores Anthologies, which she also edited. With a passion for understanding the ins and outs of all aspects of publishing, Judy is also the founder and owner of Superior Shores Press, which she established in February 2018. Judy is a member of Sisters in Crime, International Thriller Writers, the Short Mystery Fiction Society, and Crime Writers of Canada, where she served on the Board of Directors for five years, the final two as Chair. She splits her time between Sault Ste. Marie and Goulais River in Northern Ontario. Find her at judypenzsheluk.com.